Restaurant Coffee

Coffee

Well, another very good Restaurant over the weekend…… with the too typical undrinkable coffee at the end of the meal.

We had high hopes for this particular spot.

There was a lot to like from the start: good decor; music in the background quiet enough to carry on conversation in a normal tone;  and, an attentive wait staff. As we were with old friends we hadn’t seen in a while, and the restaurant was busy but not crowded, we intended to settle in for the better part of the evening. The appetizers and drinks were excellent. More drinks and talk before the main course. I especially appreciated the service – attention when we wanted it, but no rush to move things along.

As we were in an excellent mood, we all opted for desserts. No sharing. They proved to be quite good.

Now came the big decision: coffee or no? As I was still recovering from restaurant coffee the previous evening, I decided not to spoil the meal. It turned out to be a wise decision. My partner’s expression was enough to tell me here was another “I’m not desperate enough to drink this” moment.

Of all the restaurants where I’ve complained about the coffee, only one responded with any acknowledgement. I received a hand written note from one of the owners, thanking me for my comments and explaining what they were doing to correct the problem. It seems I was not the only customer who was dissatisfied. We went out of our way to eat there whenever we were in the area.

Since feedback is not usually greeted with any seriousness, it mostly just leads to crossing that particular restaurant off our list. Or, if the coffee is the only weak point, at the very least no longer having dessert. This shortchanges both the restaurant and me. Dessert is my favorite part of the meal, and it is generally a very high profit item for the restaurant.

One solution I am seriously considering is bringing a small French Press with me on future outings. Then ordering hot water and brewing one of my favorite coffees. I’d even be willing to pay a BYOC fee.

Leave a Reply

